The Story Of My First KubeCon + CloudNativeCon

The Story Of My First KubeCon + CloudNativeCon

My summer was made much better by KubeCon EU 2022. This was my first time attending KubeCon. I received a DanKon Scholarship to attend the conference virtually. It was fantastic, I must say. From the 16th to the 20th of May, KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Europe 2022 took place. I was quite excited when I set my schedule. Also the schedule is so well-designed, you may use filters to choose events that are appropriate for students or beginners.

Day 1:

There were many slack channels created for networking with folks all around the world, as well as event-help-desk like channels for providing help. I began conversing/networking with a few people and also gave answers to several questions.

I attended the following sessions:

  • Data on Kubernetes Day 2022 Europe Hosted by CNCF
  • Operator Day Hosted by Canonical

What did I learn:

Great talk, they explained how they are utilising Kubernetes on their project, and how can we join them and contribute. I also learnt about all the software operational tasks required when managing the application so that applications work effectively.

Day 2:

I attended the following sessions:

  • Kubernetes on Azure Day at KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Europe 2022 Hosted by Microsoft Azure

  • Build with the Most Automated and Scalable Kubernetes Hosted by Google Cloud

  • AWS Container Days @ KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Europe 2022 Hosted by AWS

  • Lightning Talk: Beginner to Maintainer Journey of a Student - Debabrata Panigrahi, National Institute of Technology Rourkela

What did I learn:

I learned more about Azure Kubernetes Services (AKS) and its development tools, how to run kubernetes in Azure at scale, security etc. I also learned about the Google Kuberentes Engine (GKE) and Amazon Web Services (AWS). The lighting talk was my favourite.

Day 3:

The one that has been the most eagerly awaited, I attended the following sessions:

  • Keynote: Welcome + Opening Remarks - Priyanka Sharma, Executive Director, Cloud Native Computing Foundation

  • Keynote: 7 Years of Running Kubernetes for Mercedes-Benz - Jens Erat, DevOps Engineer; Peter Mueller, Lead Expert; Sabine Wolz, Product Owner, Mercedes-Benz Tech Innovation

  • Keynote: Closing Remarks - Jasmine James, Senior Engineering Manager-Developer Experience; Ricardo Rocha, Computing Engineer, CERN; Emily Fox, Security Engineer, Apple

  • Visited to some virtual booths

  • Virtual Project Office hours by Chaos Mesh

What did I learn:

From the keynotes, I learnt how to make a community better and more effective, by always sharing what I've learned, being nice, and never disrespecting others' perspectives. Also, because most of the sessions would be available for a while after KubeCon, I was concentrating on interactive sessions and networking with folks.

keynotes2.jpg

Day 4:

Sessions that I attended:

  • Keynote: Securing Shopify's Software Supply Chain - Shane Lawrence, Staff Infrastructure Security Engineer, Shopify

  • Virtual Project Office hours: KubeVela

  • Visited to some virtual booths

  • Virtual Project Office hours: CRI-O

  • Virtual AMA Happy Hour with Priyanka Sharma

What did I learn:

Shopify's presentation covered how they secure their business using open source projects as well as about the supply chain attacks. My favourite session was the Shopify one, and the Happy Hour with Priyanka Sharma was amazing, first we all gave a quick intro about ourselves and then we were allotted breakout rooms to join in order to meet new people. I had a great time time meeting with Taylor Dolezal, the Head of CNCF Ecosystem, and he shared about his experiences and journey.

Day 5:

I attended the following sessions:

  • Keynote: Nurturing The Whole Project - Josh Berkus, Community Architect, Red Hat & Catherine Paganini, Head of Marketing & Community, Buoyant

  • Keynote: CNCF Project Updates - Jasmine James, Senior Engineering Manager-Developer Experience; Ricardo Rocha, Computing Engineer, CERN; Emily Fox, Security Engineer, Apple

  • End User Award

  • Visited to some virtual booths

  • Virtual Peer Group Mentoring + Career Networking

  • From Student to SRE That Loves CNCF in No Time - Jacob Valdemar Andreasen, Lunar

  • Navigating the CNCF Landscape, the Right Way - Divya Mohan, SUSE; Savitha Raghunathan, Red Hat; Kunal Kushwaha & Saiyam Pathak, Civo

What did I learn:

Josh Berkus and Catherine Paganini explained how a project progresses by using the example of a plant's growth and requirements. Received all of the CNCF project updates. APPLE wins the End User Award. I went to a peer group mentorship session where Jai Campbell provided us career advise and answered all of our questions, and also made some new friends. Navigating the CNCF Landscape is one of my favourite sessions, here all four of them explained to us, which tools are used when, and guided us to choose the tools based on the use case and efficiency.

sessionPic2.jpg

My virtual experience of kubeCon was awesome. I learnt a lot. I'm looking forward to attending kubeCon in-person next time.

Also if you missed any session, it will be available in the website for sometime (if you are registered) and on CNCF YouTube channel (if not registered).

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Harshita Sao by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!